Revealed: Ireland announce squad for upcoming U20 World Championships in Georgia


Lansdowne’s Paul Boyle will captain the squad, which contains six new caps. Unfortunately for head coach Peter Malone, he is missing a number of key backs through injury, with Jordan Larmour, Tommy O’Brien, Johnny McPhillips and Bill Johnston all sidelined.

Ireland are coming off a mixed U20 Six Nations campaign, with the team winning their opening three fixtures against Scotland, Italy and France before going down to Wales and England.

Last year’s tournament saw Ireland give their best ever performance at an U20 World Cup, with Ireland upsetting New Zealand en route to a final defeat to England.

Here is the full squad:


Paul Boyle (Lansdowne FC/Leinster) Captain

Charlie Connolly (Dublin University FC/Leinster)

Joey Conway (UL Bohemians RFC/Munster)

Gavin Coombes (Young Munster RFC/Munster)

Peter Cooper (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

Caelan Doris (St. Mary’s College RFC/Leinster)

Oisin Dowling (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)

Jordan Duggan (Naas RFC/Leinster)*

John Foley (Shannon RFC/Munster)

Ronan Kelleher (UCD RFC/Leinster)

Sean Masterson (Corinthians RFC/Connacht)

Tadgh McElroy (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)

Greg McGrath (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)

Marcus Rea (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)

Jack Regan (UCD RFC/Leinster)

Fineen Wycherley (Young Munster RFC/Munster)



Angus Curtis (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)*

Conor Dean (UCD RFC/Leinster)*

Ciaran Frawley (UCD RFC/Leinster)

Colm Hogan (Dublin University FC/Munster)

Jack Kelly (Dublin University FC/Leinster)

David McCarthy (Garryowen FC/Munster)*

Gavin Mullin (UCD RFC/Leinster)

Calvin Nash (Young Munster/Munster)

Jack Stafford (Shannon RFC/Munster)

Jonathan Stewart (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)

Michael Silvester (Dublin University FC/Leinster)*

Alan Tynan (Young Munster/Munster)*

Online Editors

Source link